Proficiency Levels



Proficiency Levels

3.1 Level Scales

The SWPE defines three user levels and six proficiency levels, the former including Elementary Level, Intermediate Level and Advanced Level. Elementary Level is further divided into Level 1 and Level 2, which correspond to A1 and A2 in the Common European Framework. The Intermediate Level is further divided into Level 3 and Level 4, which correspond to B1 and B2 in the Common European Framework. The Advanced Level is further divided into Level 5 and Level 6, which correspond to C1 and C2 in Common European Framework. The user levels, proficiency levels, and correspondence to the levels in the Common European Framework are shown in Table 3.1.

3.2 Criteria for Passing

Based on the level of students at Renmin University and the objectives of college English education, the SWPE defines qualified English learners as users attaining Intermediate Level and above, which means the students should be able to achieve Level 3 or above if they take RUC-TWPE after completing all required course credits. The students who wish to achieve higher may keep learning until they achieve the Advanced Level.

3.2 Level Description

The SWPE defines writing proficiency in three dimensions, including “Genre& Style,” “Organization &Development,” and “Language & Culture.” Each dimension has requirements ranging from Level 1 to Level 6, with cohesion and transition between lower and higher levels in the same dimension.